Weight Loss Tip of the Day: Try a Pedometer

Image

I’ve never really considered getting a pedometer.  I don’t like the idea of being leashed to a device all day.

You know, except for my cell phone.

Recently, I upgraded to the new Samsung Galaxy S5 from my dinky old phone.  This one came with a pedometer app and heart rate monitor.

“Whoopty-Doo,”  I had thought.

Now, almost a month later, it’s one of the first features I show people when they ask about my phone.  (That and the crazy double charger it uses).

The phone displays my step count on the unlock screen so I’m updated regularly throughout the day.  I find myself taking a few extra steps after checking a text because I’m oh so close to some nice round number or other.

I even started going for extra walks with the dog just so that I can reach the daily goal of 10,000 steps (around 5 miles).

It’s becoming something of a game for me.  What can I do to increase the total and beat my high score?

It’s also an interesting window into my daily habits.  Did you know that a trip to Target can easily be a mile’s worth of walking? Guess who found a new excuse to go shopping!

If you are struggling to find ways to add exercise to your daily regimen, consider a pedometer.  It can be a fun motivator to get yourself moving.  I know there are free apps available to download onto your phone, if you don’t want to commit to buying one.

Try it out for a week.  Try to  increase your daily steps by 100, 500, or even 1000.  Figure out which parking spot at work gives you the most “points.”  Pick a friend and make it a competition.  Every little bit counts.

Oh, and, in case you are wondering, yes, I do love my new phone. But that new charger is something else…

Leave a Reply

