Weight Loss Tip of the Day: Stop Calling it Cheating!

Image

How many times have you cheated on your diet?

How many times have you tortured yourself over eating bad food?

How many times have you stared at that cookie for hours on end like a starving dog?

Do you think that is healthy?

I don’t.

Often, when people start dieting they don’t seem so much to be making better food choices as declaring an all out war on all that they used to eat.

This way of thinking misses the big picture.  One Oreo cookie didn’t make you obese.  One cookie didn’t even make you fat.  10 cookies didn’t do that.  Not even the whole package.  It was days, weeks, months, maybe even years of Oreo cookies and other less than healthy food.

What make us fat wasn’t that we ate junk food, it was that we moved its position in our diet form that of an occasional treat to a majority stakeholder.

I believe that a proper weight loss regime should focus on moving that balance back to a more appropriate level.

The 80/20 rule is a popular concept where one tries to be 80% perfect.  It’s a more realistic way of living in the world where things are rarely perfect.  By settling for 80% perfect, you allow yourself to move forward and achieve your goals despite being unable to perform perfectly.

I think this can easily be applied to your diet.  If 80% of your food is healthy, you are doing a pretty good job.  Go ahead and enjoy the 20% of treats.  Whether it’s 80% of your calories or 80% of your meals, as long as you are consistent, you will see results.

I think it is far better to work unhealthy foods into your diet than to have to resort to cheating.  You’re going to eat them anyway, at least this way there will be a way to work around it without all the stress and guilt.

It isn’t cheating, it’s eating reasonably.

Who wants to spend their days lying to themselves and then punishing themselves with guilt?

Not me!

One thought on “Weight Loss Tip of the Day: Stop Calling it Cheating!

  1. I have to agree with you there. Looking at the bigger picture at what causes us to gain weight will indeed keep us from making the same bad choices over and over again. I remember when I was on Weight Watchers and lost over 60 pounds.. I ate well everyday and every night I had a weight watcher ice cream bar. Yes! Every night. And then one meal a week…usually the night of my weigh in I allowed myself something I don’t usually eat and that worked for me. Being realistic in my goals helped me to stay balanced as well. Great Post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

